DETAILS: INTERIOR DESIGN
This is Bandier's new NYC flagship.
This illuminated glass floor is the original roof to the courtyard of this building. When we uncovered this original architectural feature during the renovation, we decided that it would be amazing to preserve the glass floor as an unexpected beautiful moment to share with everyone. The building has a rich history as one of New York City’s premier retail centers and has been called “the finest business edifice in New York.” We wanted to celebrate this history.
This Victorian Gothic building was designed by George E. Harney and constructed by John J. Tucker in 1873-74 for Adele L.S. Stevens at a time when this section of Broadway was becoming increasingly commercial in character. It was built for Brooks Brothers, who occupied this store from 1874 to 1884. At the time of Brooks Brothers opening, the New York Times declared this building to be “an ornament to the street, and its internal arrangements are of the most perfect kind.” It was one of the first stores to offer both custom and ready-made clothing, which was displayed and sold on the first floor. Custom and military goods were sold on the second floor; workshops and storerooms occupied the upper stories. Brooks Brothers had occupied a building at Broadway and Grand Street before moving to 668-670 Broadway in 1874. The company continued to expand after leaving this building in 1884. Later, this building was occupied for many years by a men’s clothing manufacturer, Hornthal, Whitehead, Weissman & Co.